A look at Honda's journey to 100 MotoGP wins

A look at Honda's journey to 100 MotoGP wins

Snapshot: With Marc Marquez winning the Catalunya MotoGP, Honda became the first ever racing team to have 100 MotoGP wins

The year was 2002 when the authorities decided to scrap the obsolete 2 stroke racing motorcycles and replace them with new generation 4 stroke engines. This was the same year when Valentino Rossi became the champion for the second time, but on two different kind of engines. The notorious 500cc 2 stroke engines were replaced by 990cc 4 stroke engines. This new era of 4 stroke motorcycles was called MotoGP - the senior most category in the world of motorcycle racing.

What Rossi started in 2002 was then continued and carried forward in best possible manner by riders like Dani Pedrosa, Casey Stoner, Marc Marquez and a few more. After 12 years and many different riders, Honda finally achieved the unachievable on this Sunday.

These 100 wins have been achieved by 13 riders overall: Dani Pedrosa (25), Valentino Rossi (20), Casey Stoner (15), Marc Marquez (13), Sete Gibernau (8), Marco Melandri (5), Nicky Hayden (3), Max Biaggi (3), Alex Barros (3), Makoto Tamada (2), Tohru Ukawa (1), Toni Elias (1) and Andrea Dovizioso (1).

If this season progresses the way it already is, Honda might achieve a feat which would be almost impossible for anyone to think of including Yamaha that has won 81 MotoGP races in the 12 years of its existence.

•  Honda•  MotoGP
on 2014-06-17 06:21:50

We think you'd like...