Cars in India |
Select City

Abhishek Mishra and C.S Santosh wins the Desert Storm title

Snapshot: Abhishek Mishra (co-driver P.V. Srinivasa Murthy) and C.S. Santosh wins the title in XTreme and Moto (two-wheelers) categories, respectively

- Comments    |    Write Comment

As the weeklong, 2,300 kilometers 13th Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm cross-country Rally concluded here on Sunday night. Abhishek Mishra  and C.S. Santosh wins the title in XTreme and Moto (two-wheelers) categories, respectively.Only 69 participants were able to cross the finish line from a total of 130, who participated in the race passing through rough and harsh Thar Desert terrain, fighting heavy rains in the final run from Bikaner to Jaipur. 

Suresh Rana’s ride encountered some major engine problems due to which he was unable to advance in the race and Delhi-based Mishra, moved to the front and made the lead to cross the line fastest.

Mishra said: "I am super thrilled at this victory; all the hard work paid off. I am eagerly looking forward to next year's rally. It takes a lot of hard work, concentration and following the basic principles of safe driving to complete the rally."

while, Santosh, the 31-year old from Bengaluru, riding a Suzuki RXM 450, won  the opposition in the 2-wheeler category to retain the title.Santosh is the first Indian ever to compete in the world’s toughest cross-country rally “the Dakar rally”.

Trailing Santosh were 2 KTM riders, Jes David of Jaipur and Mohit Verma from Bengaluru, but none had even a slight chance of catching up with Santosh.

Provisional final classification:

XTreme: Abhishek Mishra / PVS Murthy (Team Speedsport, Grand Vitara) 1 (14hrs, 33mins, 23secs); Harpreet Bawa / Ashwin Naik (Team Speedsport, Grand Vitara) 2 (15:05:09); Niju Padia / Shekhar V (Mitsubishi Pajero) 3 (16:26:18).

Moto-Quad: CS Santosh (Team Maruti, Suzuki RMX 450) 1 (08:24:59) 1; Jes David (KTM Duke 390) 2 (10:02:47); Mohit Verma (KTM Duke 390) 3 (10:22:00).

NDure: Vishnu Singh / Adithya Anthony (Grand Vitara) 1 (00:25:42); Somdeb Chanda / Neerav Mehta (Maruti Gypsy) 2 (00:33:28); Shravik Shah / Amit Saha (Maruti Gypsy) 3 (0:34:18).

XPlore: Karthik Maruti /ASankar Anand (Maruti SX4) 1 (02:21:54);ASubham Midha / Abhinav Kalra (Maruti SX4) 2 (02:35:45); Anubhab De / Chandan Sen (Maruti SX4) 3 (03:15:48).